Walter E. Olson Memorial Library

203 N. Main Street (715)479-8070

Databases and Catalogs

With a library card you have access to the following digital resources:

Merlin Online Library Catalog logo

Merlin is the catalog shared by NWLS member libraries. Your Merlin card number can be used to access your account and place holds, request items from other libraries, renew your items, or check the status your library record.

 OverDrive logo - download eBooks, audiobooks, music and videos The Wisconsin Public Library Consortium (WPLC) offers OverDrive,  a catalog of downloadable ebooks, audio books, videos and music that can be reserved and/or checked out with your library card for devices such as an ebook reader, Kindle, tablet, or smart phone. Visit http://dbooks.wplc.info to browse the collection and get started today! 
 badgerlink

BadgerLink provides access to licensed content such as magazines, newspapers, scholarly articles and databases not available through regular search engines such as Google.  These authoritative resources are perfect for students, genealogists and researchers.

Some of the many resources included FREE to WI library cardholders include: 

...and more! *Note that if BadgerLink does not automatically recognize your IP address as a Wisconsin location, you may be asked to log in with a library card number to access the resources here. 
 Ancestry Library Edition Ancestry Library Edition is an extensive genealogy research tool. Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more.
**NOTE: This database can only be accessed from our library's public access computers.**

Other Genealogy resources include Newspapers, books, Census & Revolutionary War records, city directories, and articles on historic events
ConsumerReports

ConsumerReports.org - your library card gives you full access including ratings and recommendations on thousands of products and services in categories such as appliances, cars, electronics and computers, home and garden, health and fitness, babies and kids, food, personal finance, and travel.

Practice test Free DMV Practice Test
Driving-tests.org, one of the nation's top sites for driver's license practice tests.
 learning-express

Learning Express Library offers a variety of learning tools for all ages.
You will find:

  • preparation tools and skill-building materials for adults, covering subjects like learning about a career and preparing for an entrance or occupational exam.
  •  test preparation tools and skill-building materials for reviewing key college skills.
  • test preparation tools for the ACT, PSAT, and SAT as well as skill-building materials, including how to write a college admissions essay.
  • High School equivalency center containing test preparation tools for the GED, HiSET, and TASC tests as well as skill-building materials, covering subjects like math, reading, and writing.
  • test preparation tools and skill-building materials for children, teens, and adults.
  • A collection of web-based skill-building materials on today’s popular computer programs including Microsoft Office, Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, Flash, Dreamweaver, and Windows and Mac operating systems.

It's all FREE with your library card. Check it out!

 Wiscat - Catalog of public and academic libraries in the state of Wisconsin WISCAT is a statewide database for borrowing outside our NWLS Merlin catalog system. Click the WISCAT link to access and find the item you are looking for (always check Merlin first, just in case). Once you find the item, use the Request button to place your request.  We will notify you when requested items have arrived..  You can also make inter-library loan requests by email or calling the library (715)479-8070.  Once it is in we will contact you and you can pick up and return the item here. 
 WorldCat - online catalog for public and academic libraries world-wide WorldCat is a worldwide catalog of library collections that includes more than 67 million bibliographic records with items in many different formats. Patrons can access this database at any library or at home with a user-friendly search page.